Horsfall Competition and Adjudicator Recital

Horsfall Competition: Saturday, January 14, 2017 9:00am - 5:00pm

Horsfall Guest Artist Recital featuring Carol Wincenc: Sunday, January 15, 2017 7:30pm

Brechemin Auditorium
University of Washington,
School of Music


Carol Wincenc, Upper Division Adjudicator

Paul Taub, Lower Division Adjudicator

Horsfall Competition (January 14th): Free for auditors!

Horsfall Guest Artist Recital featuring Carol Wincenc:
SFS Student Members: $15
SFS Members: $20
General Admission: $25

About the Adjudicators

Upper Division Adjudicator, Carol Wincenc   


Grammy-nominated flutist Carol Wincenc is the recipient of the 2011 Lifetime Achievement Award from the National Flute Association, and will receive the Lifetime Achievement Award from the Society of Arts and Letters in the spring of 2014.  She recently celebrated her 25th anniversary as a faculty member at The Juilliard School in a gala recital of colleagues, students and friends, including the Escher String Quartet and members of the Les Amies Trio. Wincenc celebrated her 2009-2010 Ruby Anniversary with rave reviews from the New York Times, Wall Street Journal, The New Yorker, and Performance Today. A muse of many of today's most prominent composers, she has premiered concertos written for her by Christopher Rouse, Lukas Foss, Henryk Górecki (with a most recent release on Naxos with Warsaw Philharmonic, May 2012), Joan Tower, Paul Schoenfield, Jake Heggie, Peter Schickele, Roberto Sierra and Tobias Picker.

Lower Division Adjudicator, Paul Taub      

Paul Taub, flute, was born in New York City, and has been a resident of Seattle since 1979. He holds a B.A. from Rutgers University and an M.F.A. from the California Institute of the Arts, and has studied with some of the world’s greatest flutists including Michel Debost, Samuel Baron, Marcel Moyse, and Robert Aitken. As Professor of Music at Cornish College of the Arts and as a founding member of the Seattle Chamber Players, Taub plays an active role in the Seattle contemporary music scene. He has performed and recorded American and world premieres by internationally known composers including Robert Aitken, John Cage, George Crumb, Janice Giteck, Sofia Gubaidulina, Wayne Horvitz, Ned Rorem, Toru Takemitsu, Reza Vali, and Peteris Vasks among others. As a soloist, he has appeared with the Northwest Chamber Orchestra, the Olympia Chamber Orchestra, Philharmonia Northwest, the Everett Symphony, the Young Composers Collective, and the Esoterics.

Zart Dombourian-Eby


Zart Dombourian-Eby is the principal piccoloist (Robert and Clodagh Ash Chair) of the Seattle Symphony, and is regularly featured as both a flute and piccolo soloist with the orchestra. Her performances have consistently received highest praise from both critics and audiences: the Seattle Times review of her performance of Gunther Schullerís Concerto for Flute and Piccolo bore the headline "It was a night for flute/piccolo artistry", and described her playing as "spectacular" and "phenomenal". Music Director Gerard Schwarz has called her "without peer."

Lisa Bergman


Pianist Lisa Bergman has collaborated in performances with many of today's most esteemed artists such as Julius Baker, recitalist and former principal flutist, NY Philharmonic; Marni Nixon, soprano; Steven Staryk, former concertmaster, Chicago, Royal Philharmonic and Toronto Symphonies; Julian Patrick, baritone; Ransom Wilson, flutist; Gervase de Peyer, clarinetist; Jeffrey Khaner, principal flutist Philadelphia Orchestra; Michele Lethiec, Lyons Conservatoire; Mindy Kaufman, piccoloist, New York Philharmonic; Janet Ferguson, principal flutist, LA Philharmonic; Larry Combs, principal clarinetist, Chicago Symphony; Sergiu Schwartz, violinist; Rolf Björling, tenor, Stockholm Royal Opera; Alex Klein, oboist; Per Oien, principal flutist, Oslo Philharmonic; Andor Toth, violinist; Carmen Pelton, soprano; Ervin Monroe, principal flutist, Detroit Symphony; Algirdas Budrys, principal clarinetist, Lithuanian State Orchestra and Augusto Paglialunga, tenor, New York City Opera.